Cares

“Live carefree before God; he is most careful with you.” This is how the Message renders I Peter 5:7, which we may know better in the NIV: “Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.” Both are powerful messages of God’s care, but as is often the case, I like the way it reads in the Message. I suppose if I were to cast all my anxiety on God, I could live carefree and maybe even I would, but this is not usually how I live. Usually I am the careful one, the one who is literally full of care- for others, to be sure, but all too often simply for myself. What would it be like to live carefree? I can scarcely imagine it.

To be told to live carefree, because he is most careful with me, is to be challenged to radically reorient my entire way of being. It is to be reminded of who and whose I am. In Jesus all things hold together, not Robert. His care is necessary and most effective. To be told that he is careful with me is a tender word of love, one which stills my racing heart and creates the space in which I can lay down my burdens. Lord, let it be so.

 

Leave a Reply

